Top News

Community: Woman’s Hospital, AHA donates 10 CPR mannequins to Glen Oaks High School

The Woman’s Hospital partnered with the American Heart Association of Louisiana on March 7 to give back to the community and speak out about the importance of heart health. Woman’s and AHA donated a CPR in Schools Training Kit to Glen Oaks Magnet High School’s medical programs, which are available to students considering a career in medical or health-related fields.

The kits each contain 10 mannequins that are sustainable and reusable, meaning the school can continue to use them year after year, potentially adding more trained lifeguards to our community. The kits enable students to learn core CPR skills in under 30 minutes, including AED skills and suffocation assistance.

Everything teachers need to teach students properly is included: an instructional video, a facilitator’s guide, mannequins and a mannequin pump, knee pads, spare parts and disinfectant.

Head Nurse of the Woman Cherie Johnson and AHA representatives Nicole Jackson emphasized the importance of heart health during their fundraising presentation, noting that heart disease is the leading cause of death for men, women and people of most racial and ethnic groups in the United States

Johnson is the chair of the 2023 AHA Capital Area Heart Walk, which will take place on March 25.

For more information on this year’s Heart Walk or Cardiovascular Care at Woman’s, visit

Volunteer Louisiana announces 2023 Champions of Service

Lt. gov. Billy Nungesser and Volunteer Louisiana announce the nine Champions of Service for 2023. The annual Champions of Service Awards recognize outstanding volunteers from seven geographic regions across the state, as well as an outstanding volunteer program for AmeriCorps members and groups.

The winners of the Champions of Service Award 2023 are: Hope BazerNorthwest Champion; Christopher LeGuin, Northeast Champion; willie mae kennedy, Central Master; Lisa NamikasGreater Capital Area Champion; amy sins, Greater New Orleans Champion; Audry Spencer, Southwest Champion; Rose Westphalia, Southeast Champion; Dimitri Celis, AmeriCorps Champion; and Rebuilding Terrebonne, Lafourche and Grand Isle Volunteer Team, Volunteer Group Champion.