BREAKING: 22 Justices Nominated For Elevation To Supreme Court (Full List)

Supreme court


A list of 22 justices of the Court of Appeal nominated by the Federal Judicial Service Commission (FJSC) for elevation to the Supreme Court has been sent to the National Judicial Council (NJC).

The names of the nominees, who hail from various regions in the country, were revealed in an FJSC document obtained by journalists on Thursday.

The North-Central region has six nominees, while the South-West and South-South regions have two nominees each. The South-East region also has six nominees, and the North-East has two nominees. The development is coming after the retirement of Justice Amina Augie, which left the Supreme Court with only 11 serving justices.

Justice Amina had retired from the bench, having reached the mandatory retirement age of 70 and further decreased the number of justices at the apex court to 11.

Below is the list of the nominated justices revealed in a SaharaReporters Publication.


1Hon Justice Nwaoma Uwa (Abia State)-Priority 1A.Hon Justice Onyekachi Otisi (Abia State) -Reserve

2Hon Justice Obande Ogbuinya (Ebonyi State)-Priority

2AHon Justice Theresa Orji-Abadua (Imo State)- Reserve

3Hon Justice Anthony Ogakwu (Enugu State)-Priority

3AHon Justice Chioma Nwosu-lheme (Imo State)-Reserve


1Hon Justice Moore Adumein (Bayelsa State)-Priority

1AHon Justice Biobele Georgewill (Rivers State)-Reserve


1Hon Justice Adewale Abiru (Lagos State)-Priority

1AHon Justice Olubunmi Oyewole (Osun State)-Reserve


1Hon Jummai Sankey (Plateau State)-Priority

1A Hon Justice Muhammad Ibrahim Sirajo (Plateau)-Reserve

2Hon Justice Stephen Adah (Kogi State)-Priority

2A Hon Justice Ridman Maiwada Abdullahi (Nassarawa State) -Reserve

3Hon Justice Baba Idris (Niger State)-Priority

3AHon Justice Joseph Ikyegh (Benue State)-Reserve


1Hon Justice Haruna Simon Tsammani (Bauchi State)-Priority

1A Hon Justice Abubakar Talba (Adamawa State)


1. Hon Justice Muhammad Lawal Shuaibu (Jigawa State)-Priority

1A. Hon Justice Bello Aliyu (Zamfara State) -Reserve

2. Hon Justice Abubakar Sadiq Umar (Kebbi State)-Priority

2A Hon Justice Abdullahi Mahmud Bayero (Kano State)-Reserve