South Africa

German school honours music learners

The music department of the Deutsche Internationale Schule Pretoria (DSP) celebrated its music enthusiasts during the inaugural Music Achievers Awards and Scholarship benefit concert on Saturday, October 14.

The event featured exceptional musical performances and celebrations.

AnnieChang 08846 tn e1697785733315
Annie Chang. Photo: DSP.

The department has a rich tradition of nurturing talented musicians, and the event served to acknowledge the dedication and excellence exhibited by music students over the past year.

Spokesperson Anja Schlüter said not only were high-achieving individuals honoured, but also numerous music students.

“These students included those who have contributed to our orchestra, various ensembles, and choirs.”

Schlüter said the event was also part of their fundraising activities.

She said the world of music is not only about talent but relies heavily on access to instruments, technology, lessons, and maintenance, all of which can be costly.

“To provide more learners with the opportunity to embark on their musical journey, the DSP is proud to announce the establishment of the DSP Crescendo Music Fund.”

She said all proceeds generated from the ticket sales would be directed to the fund.

RyanSmith 08860 tn e1697785705851
Ryan Smith. Photo: DSP.

Schlüter said the fund had two primary purposes:

– Promoting young musicians, including awarding merit scholarships to deserving students.

– Promoting the musical programme and ensembles by providing instruments on loan and purchasing sheet music to foster a rich musical environment.

She said the music department was committed to nurturing and promoting musical talent among students, fostering a love for music, and providing opportunities for young musicians to flourish.

“Through performances, education, and scholarships, we aim to create a vibrant musical community within the school and beyond.”

She said those who wished to make additional contributions to this noble cause, are encouraged to get in touch with Rainer von Schlichting directly at [email protected].

MakhiMarenya 08862 tn e1697785715772
Makhi Marenya. Photo: DSP.

The Music Award Winners

Levi Manuel: Drums – Most Promising Drummer (Primary School)

Jan-Martin Beyers: Trumpet – Most Improved Brass Player (Primary School)

Arthur Wang: Piano – Best Pianist (Primary School)

Delphine Klingelhöfer: Piano – Most Improved Pianist (Primary School)

Raphael Vogetseder: Piano – Best Pianist (Secondary School)

Annie Chang: Violin – Best Violin Player (Secondary School)

Ayanda Jaka: Violin – Most Improved Violin Player (Secondary School)

Ulla Claase: Clarinet – Most Improved Woodwind Player (Secondary School)

Isidor Beresowski: Oboe – Best Woodwind Player (Secondary School)

Luca Kohlmeyer: Trombone – Most Improved Brass Player (Secondary School)

Ingo Aschenborn: Trombone – Best Brass Player (Secondary School)

Tayla Schenach: Vocal – Excellent Achievements (Secondary School)

Makhi Marenya: Vocal – Best Vocalist (Secondary School)

Angelita Diergaardt: Vocal – Most Promising Vocalist (Secondary School)

Rosemary Morris: Vocal – Most Improved Vocalist (Secondary School)

Dineo Mabusela: Marimba – Outstanding Performance (Secondary School)

Tshegofatso Mamatela: Marimba – Outstanding Performance (Secondary School)

Atlegang Mabena: Marimba and Choir – Most Outstanding Marimba and Choir

Ryan Smith: Drums and Percussion – Best Drummer/Percussionist (Secondary School)

Marjan Beyers: Harp – Exceptional Musicianship

LucaKohlmeyer 08805 tn e1697785724199
Luca Kohlmeyer. Photo: DSP.

Do you have more information about the story?

Please send us an email to [email protected] or phone us on 083 625 4114.

For free breaking and community news, visit Rekord’s websites: Rekord East

For more news and interesting articles, like Rekord on Facebook, follow us on Twitter or Instagram