South Africa

Winners of Tshwane Women in Sport Awards 2023 announced

The winners of the Tshwane Women in Sport Awards 2023 are a testimony to the quality of sportswomen and women in sports administration who operate in the capital.

Some of the biggest names in South African sport, including Olympic and Commonwealth medal winners, were among the honourees and nominees of this initiative.

The initiative also offers sportswomen who participate in teams the opportunity to enjoy recognition, while standouts and achievers in the media and other sports-related industries are also included among those honoured by the Tshwane Sports Confederation.

The official awards function of the Tshwane Women in Sport Awards, a morning dedicated to honouring women in sport, was held last week at the University of Pretoria. This prestigious event, proudly sponsored by SPAR, welcomed esteemed guests, including renowned sportswomen Caster Semenya and Cllr. Peggy de Bruin, MMC of Recreation and Social Development.

Retha Ingenbleek, SPAR North Rand Sponsorship Controller, expressed her pride in supporting such an empowering event.

“We are delighted to have sponsored the Tshwane Women in Sport Awards. SPAR is committed to promoting equality and providing opportunities for women in sports. Congratulations to all the winners who have showcased outstanding talent and dedication,” she remarked.

The winners of the Tshwane Women in Sport Awards 2023 are as follows:

  • Sportswoman of the Year: Lara van Niekerk (Swimming) – Winner
  • Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability: Kgothatso Montajne (Tennis)
  • WinnerMost Promising Athlete of the Year: Wendy Shongwe (Soccer) – Winner
  • School Sports Athlete of the Year: Megan Maree (Athletics + Hockey) – Winner
  • Most Promising Team of the Year: Gauteng North Figure Skating – Winner
  • Coach of the Year Individual Sport: Moonyean Britz (Boxing) – Winner
  • Administrator of the Year: Riana Bezuidenhout (Netball) – Winner
  • Technical Official of the Year: Benita Kleynhans (Swimming) – Winner
  • Game Changer of the Year: Anne Waldek-Thill (Figure Skating) – Winner
  • Sports Programme of the Year: Shoshanguve FM – Winner
  • Community Media of the Year: Garankuwa FM
  • Sponsor of the Year: SPAR
  • Community-Based Sport and Rec Program of the Year: Altus Sport – Winner
  • Amateur Photographer of the Year: Trevor Mabona – Winner
  • Presidents Awards: Claudine Claassen (Netball), Lonwabo Nkohla (Media), Hayley Wallker (Figure Skating), Kelebogile Lefhiedi (Soccer), Lianza Gericke (Gymnastics)
  • President’s Excellence Award: Caster Semenya
  • MMC Peggy de Bruin Special Award: Tebogo Macheke (Cricket)

“We congratulate all the winners and commend their exceptional achievements in their respective sports. SPAR remains committed to supporting women in sport, and we look forward to continuing our partnership with the Tshwane Women in Sport Awards to inspire and empower more women in the future,”  Ingenbleek concluded.


Do you have more information about the story?

Please send us an email to [email protected] or phone us on 083 625 4114.

For free breaking and community news, visit Rekord’s websites: Rekord East

For more news and interesting articles, like Rekord on Facebook, follow us on Twitter or Instagram