FCT natives demand for qualified candidate as minister

Natives of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) have urged President Bola Tinubu to select the most qualified candidate among them to serve as the first Minister of the FCT.

A media consultant and political analyst, Mathias Ifije, spoke on behalf of the FCT natives in Abuja on Sunday.

He listed names like Amb. Ayuba Jacob Ngbako,  Hon. Bitrus Zephaniah Jisalo,  Hon. Zakari Angulu Dobi, and Sen. Usman Jubrin Wowo, and said that anyone amongst them could easily fit for the FCT ministerial position.

He said:  “For example, the experience of Amb. Ayuba Jacob Ngbako, who is a grassroots politician, speaks for himself. He was born in 1959 and is a Gbagyi native of the FCT. He has been an astute public servant and diplomat, having served as Nigeria’s ambassador to The Gambia. He has over 30 years of business and political experience.

According to Ifije, Ngbako was the first Executive Deputy Mayor of Abuja Municipal Area Council, Executive Chairman of AMAC, was also Delegate to Constitutional Conference, and has served as Executive Director, of Commercial Services, Nigerian Electricity Management Services Agency(NEMSA). He was also a member, of the Technical Committee of the Nigerian Yam Export Programme.

“Before he joined the APC,  Ngbako was the PDP FCT State Chairman and also an Ambassador/ High Commissioner to The Gambia. He was a Dean of Diplomatic, Consular Corps, and International Organizations Accredited to the Gambia.

“Amb. Ngbako was also very active during the last election where he served as the FCT State Coordinator for Tinubu Shettima Grassroots Independent Campaign Council (GICC).”

According to the political analyst, Hon. Angulu Zakari was born in 1971 in Dobi, Gwagwalada Area Council of Abuja.

“He is a politician and has represented Kuje, Abaji, Gwagwalada, and Kwali Federal Constituency at the Federal House of Representatives, Abuja.

Ifije explained that Hon. Angulu was 2015 elected under the platform of the All Progressives Congress to represent the Kuje/Abaji/Gwagwalada/Kwali Constituency at the Federal House of Representatives, and was a member of the House Committee on Electoral Matters and Political Policy.