NIMASA Director-General to deliver The Bullion Lecture April 13

Bashir Jamoh, director general of the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA), has been chosen to deliver the 2023 edition of The Bullion Lecture.

The lecture is scheduled for 10am on Thursday, April 13, 2023 at the Civic Centre, Victoria Island, Lagos. The theme of the lecture is ‘Banking on Blue Economy for Nigeria’s Economic Development.’

Jamoh, a seasoned administrator and maritime expert, is also the immediate past President of the Chartered Institute of Transport Administration of Nigeria (CIoTA), and the 2021 winner of the Zik Prize for Leadership in Public Policy and Public Service.

Read also: Achudume tells Nigerians to put Nigeria ahead of ethnicity

The DG, who obtained Ph.D. from the University of Port Harcourt, specialising in Logistics and Transport Management, has over 32 years of professional and technocratic experience in the transportation and maritime sectors of the Nigerian economy.

The Bullion Lecture, a platform conceptualised by Centre for Financial Journalism for lively discussion on national and international issues, is always delivered by first-rate academics and professionals.

According to a statement in Lagos by Ray Echebiri, founder and CEO of Centre for Financial Journalism, organisers of The Bullion Lecture, the 2023 edition of the lecture will be chaired by Jean Chiazor Anishere, a senior advocate of Nigeria (SAN), Principal Partner, Chiazor Anishere & Partners and President, Women in Maritime Africa, while Professor Umar Danbatta, executive vice chairman/CEO of the Nigerian Communications Commission, will be the Special Guest of Honour.

Distinguished panelists who will dissect the lecture are Professor Chris Onalo, registrar/CEO, National Institute of Credit Administration, and Mkgeorge Onyung, president, Ship Owners Association of Nigeria.

Expected guests at the lecture include government officials, captains of industry, banking and finance executives, maritime executives, lawyers, ICT professionals, oil and gas industry executives, members of the academic community, members of the diplomatic corps, representatives of multilateral institutions, media practitioners, and members of the public.